Monday, 19 May 2014

NSFWG members on BFS jury

Since 1971, the British Fantasy Society has been the focal point for fans, writers, publishers, film-makers, artists and anyone who is a lover of fantasy and horror in all its forms.  The British Fantasy Awards (originally called The August Derleth Fantasy Awards) has been with the society almost from the start and are now established as an annual event, presented at FantasyCon.

Members of the society vote for the longlist and the Awards administrator collates a shortlist from this, with the relevant titles being handed to juries who will decide the winner.

This year, we are thrilled to announce that two NSFWG members - Donna Bond and Mark West - have been chosen to be jurors.  Donna has served in this capacity before for other societies, though it's Marks debut to the process.

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)
Cate Gardner
Jim McLeod
Mark West
Pauline Morgan
Thana Niveau

Best Magazine/Periodical
Aleksandra Kesek
Donna Bond
Jim McLeod

From the release:
The juries for the British Fantasy Awards are appointed by the Awards Administrator (Stephen Theaker) under the supervision of the British Fantasy Society committee. The BFS committee itself is the jury for the Special Award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award).

The juries have begun the process of deciding whether to add any egregious omissions to the nominees decided by the voters of the British Fantasy Society and FantasyCon. We hope to announce the resulting shortlists at the British Fantasy Society Open Night on 6 June 2014.

For a full list of jury members, click this link

No comments:

Post a Comment